The leaders of four front-line European states send a joint memorandum on the New Pact on Migration and Asylum

Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis, along with the Prime Ministers of Italy, Giuseppe Conte, Spain, Pedro Sanchez and Malta, Robert Abela, have signed and sent a joint memorandum to the European Council and the European Commission with their positions on the Commission’s proposal for the New Pact on Migration and Asylum, which is currently under discussion.

The four Prime Ministers of first-entry countries stress that the rules must be clear not only in terms of responsibilities borne by the countries of first entry, but also with regard to the rules of solidarity among member states, so that responsibility is shared.

They emphasise that control procedures at the border must not lead to the establishment of large closed centers, while pointing out the external dimension of migration, both in terms of relations with the Southern Neighborhood and an effective return system.